• Meet the experts

    At ZARM you can find experts for all questions concerning research for space and research under microgravity conditions - ranging from physicists, mathematicians, IT specialists to engineers. more

  • The ZARM concept

    ZARM strives to set new standards - in science as well as in social responsibility. Diverse and multidisciplinary teams are our key factors for sustained scientific progress. more...

  • Microgravity at its best

    ZARM's most prominent facility is the Drop Tower Bremen providing 9.3 seconds of weightlessness  - more than any other earthbound laboratory worldwide. more

Die Schüler treffen die letzten Vorbereitungen für den Start ihres Dosensatelliten. Quelle: DLR (CC BY 3.0 DE)
Die Rakete bringt den Mini-Satelliten bis auf eine Höhe von einem Kilometer. Quelle: DLR (CC BY 3.0 DE)

CanSat: A full Space mission in a can

For the 3rd time, the German CanSat competition is taking place in Bremen. On 28 September 2016, school students will have the chance to launch their self-built mini satellite with a rocket up to a... more

Künstlerische Darstellung eines supermassiven Schwarzen Lochs. Quelle: NASA/JPL-Caltech

Summer school brings light into black holes

The Research Training Group „Models of Gravity“ organises a summer school on relativistic accretion in September, 26-30, at ZARM. The main foci of the school are the analytical models, current state... more

Fulbright Scholarship Holder Visits ZARM

The Fulbright Programme supports the academic exchange between the USA and 155 other countries and is one of the most distinguished scholarships worldwide. Professor James C. Hermanson from the... more

Die Schülerinnen und Schüler integrieren ihre Experimentaufbauten in die Fallkapsel und treffen letzte Vorbereitungen für den Test unter Schwerelosigkeit. 
ZARM-Institutsleiter Prof. Marc Avila begrüßt die Schulteams in der Fallturmhalle.

School teams perform their own microgravity experiments

On 6 June 2016, the DroPS project (Drop Tower Project for School Students) reached its final highlight. Three school teams conducted their own experiment in Europe's largest drop facility, the Drop... more